Building With Ferram

Hey guys. I just installed Ferram Aerospace, and I'm not quite sure what I'm doing. I learned pretty quickly that it hates ASAS, but that a stable plane flies just fine without it. The question is, what makes a stable plane? I looked at some of the pre-made designs and saw that the CoL should be above and behind the CoM, but that alone doesn't seem to do the trick.

Any and all tips are much appreciated.

You'll want pretty good tail fins and adequate surface area for your wings. You CAN have a CoL in front of CoM but it won't be very friendly to adjustments (it'll basically always pitch up). Also try and put the CoM in the middle of your plane as possible, then CoL behind it. If you stay in reasonable distances, it'll be stable and maybe take off from the runaway before it runs out. I'm no expert but you get the hang of it after many fails. 0.21 will probably fix ASAS with FAR too, also if you want more technical and in-depth tips post your problem with a pic of the plane in the FAR thread, ferram often answers too.

There's a few tricks you can use to improve stability. For roll stability you can add dihedral (wings tilted so they point a little bit up when viewed along the fuselage), or, I think, if your CoM is below your CoL. I prefer the former, myself. For yaw and pitch stability, add a good set of large tailplanes. I'm prone to V tails myself, and using big stabilator type surfaces - where the whole surface turns to control the air flow - but a set of vertical and horizontal stabilizers work too. But yeah, make those big enough.