Project Archimedes- for the Duna Permanent Outpost Architectural Challenge(pic heavy)

Patupi

Project Archimedes

This thread is to detail my entry to the Duna Permanent Outpost Architectural Challenge.

See here for the thread for that challenge: Duna Architectural Challenge

(Edit: Update.12th August 2013- Now up to day 178 and re-organized how heatshields add onto the missions. They go between ITV and next payload then this switches around just prior to aerobraking. See page 2 of this thread for details)

(Edit: Update.15th August Now up to day 304 and after launching the last part of Gamma decided on a non-Hoffmann transfer earlier than schedule. So far so good!)

(Edit: Update.1st September OK, forgot to update the 1st page in a while. My Challenge effort is now done. No distasters! A few problems but it all worked out and the 1st Kerbal crew returned home on day 990)

Flag Planting Test.jpg

I started this thread because I'm just getting into the actual missions after much design and schedule planning and don't really want to repetitively post in the challenge thread, as I've already posted quite a few of my design pics there as I went. First a brief recap on what I've planned and designed.

The primary launch vehicle to get payloads into Kerbin orbit is the Catalyst semi-reusable launch vehicle:

Catalyst Launcher.jpg

The outer six boosters are re-usable, landing in the sea to the east of KSC for retrieval. The central, second stage is not, but is way less than the 50% of booster mass non-reusable required by the challenge to count as a re-usable vessel. It is rated as a 28 ton lifter, able to put 28 tons in an 80 km orbit, but actually has more fuel than needed for that. This I use to rendezvous different sections together and to de-orbit the 2nd stage booster after delivering the payload. The second stage burns up on re-entry and is lost.

2nd stage booster:

Catalyst 2nd stage.jpg