How to lock part Axis during Construction...?

Hello. I'm new to KSP...haven't landed on the mun yet...but try'in too.

I'm having extreme difficulty with construction however. I've done some 3D modeling in other software but have major problems in KSP.

I'm having 2 highly annoying problems:

1) If I have the camera facing at an angle and move my mouse left and right to move the part left and right...the camera moves it up and down....I have to rotate the camera level and then I can move it left and right, but now I loose depth placement, or have lost the exsact X-axis depth I wanted the part at.

2) The second thing I'm having problems with is trying to place a few rockets off center from another set symmetrical to the Y-axis, but not the X-axis...such as making a long wing, then trying to place a rocket at the top and bottom evenly. I cant use the "Part Symmetrical Duplicator" button or it puts it waaaay on the other side of the ship relative to the X-axis, not the Y-axis.

----------------------------------

Is there a way to:

1) Press and hold a key or something to lock the axis, such as if I'm moving a part up and down, I can press and hold a key, move the camera any angle I want and move the part and it stills moves up and down on the same X-axis as long as I'm holding that key?

2) Can I enable a "snap-grid" so I can do single part placement at intervals that are easy to line up?

-----------------------------------

These 2 feature are in pretty much EVERY 3D modeling program that I have worked with and could really use them in KSP.

If there is not a way, whats the best area for a feature request?

Thanks!

There is a suggestion forum in an other category (development i guess)

As you build, you will notice more and more issues with the editor, but also, you get used to the limits slowly, or build in a way where it will not be a problem :)

what you can try: