"Operation: Red Rust." Now with Chapter 3 (Part 1)!

Hello! This is my story of my first ever attempt at a full scale Duna mission on career. Actually, it's my first attempt ever. And I wanted to show it in a book like, RP story. I've seen other missions like this, and have always wanted to do one of my own. As seen below, segments will be put into chapters, for convenience, since this is going to be a long story. Also, each chapter will come when it's good and ready, so if a certain chapter takes a while, just try to be patient and I'll get it out soon. So, without further ado, let's get this party started! To start, we'll go from a Prologue and work our way to present time.

Operation: Red Rust, Chapter 0: Prologue

c1huhXz.png?1

Time: Year 2, day 300 since the founding of the Kerbal Space Program. In that time, the KSP has made many successful missions involving space stations, landing, and colonies. However, there has yet to be any Kerbal to have gone farther than Kerbin's SOI. With the technology available at the time, the people down at the Kerbal Space Center didn't dare take the risk. But, with new advancements in tech, and more confidence on bringing kerbals back alive, they're in the middle of the plans to land a team of kerbals on a whole other planet. After some debate, it was decided that the best planet for this mission would be Duna. With a launch window about a year away, the KSC team has already gotten to work. They have named this mission "Operation: Red Rust" after the red iron-oxide surface of the planet.