Best Placement for Reaction Wheels

I tried searching but couldn't find anything, where is the best spot to put reaction wheels?

I'm thinking near the COM would be the best place, but I'm not that good at physics to know for sure. I do know placing them off centre can create a "worm" effect in the rocket as one part moves and then the other whips around to follow it.

Also, scaling up, would multiple wheels near the COM be better or would you be better off putting one at each end of the rocket (or spreading them throughout)?

Reason I ask, I've got some absolute beasts heading into orbit now and they are a copper plated to orientate effectively. Couple of times I've missed apoapsis because I simply couldn't get the rocket around in time :D

Edited by -root
Answered

I tried searching but couldn't find anything, where is the best spot to put reaction wheels?

Let's see if I can get this post done before getting ninja'd. :)

I'm surprised you didn't find anything, since this particular topic usually spurs a LOT of conversation...

I'm thinking near the COM would be the best place, but I'm not that good at physics to know for sure. I do know placing them off centre can create a "worm" effect in the rocket as one part moves and then the other whips around to follow it.

Well, I can say what you are thinking is correct. If you place the Torque modules in bad spots, it can cause the ship to flex and bend around. Doing the "worm" as you so put it.

One thing to understand first though, is that placement of the torque modules does NOT matter in terms of how well they turn the craft. Whether they are at the center or at the ends of the craft, they will apply an equal amount of "turning ability" on the ship. And the ship ALWAYS turns around the Center of Mass.

Also, scaling up, would multiple wheels near the COM be better or would you be better off putting one at each end of the rocket (or spreading them throughout)?