Why does my spaceplane pitch up when it nears the ground?

This is my first attempt at making a SSTO spaceplane. It took me a fair few iterations to get the design right in order to achieve a 100km orbit with leftover fuel, but I finally got it working perfectly.

However, the issue now lies in the landing sequence. Bear in mind that it's designed first and foremost as a shuttle, so I wasn't expecting fantastic aerodynamics in atmo.

While approaching the runway, which is often powered to compensate for bad estimation of re-entry drag, I constantly have to pitch down slightly, but this is merely a minor annoyance no doubt caused by the center of lift being too far forward without the fuel.

But as I'm roughly ten seconds from touchdown, I'm typically going just under 100m/s on a normal glide slope. In normal circumstances I would throttle down or idle the engines to glide to the runway, but as I do this, my plane just lurches upwards. If I didn't hold pitch down, it would probably just point straight up and stall if not flip over. Then it comes back down, after losing about 50m/s, and typically crash. It's like it detects a drop in vertical speed below a threshold velocity and goes into panic mode to avoid a crash.

No matter how careful I am with my attitude and speed, it always performs this "Oh .... the ground pull up pull up pull up" maneuver.

I don't suppose anything in Mechjeb could be playing with it? I wasn't using Smart A.S.S. or spaceplane guidance, I even toggled off all utilities just to be sure. Hell I tried landing using Mechjeb and that was sure to crash it before it even reached the runway.

This is roughly the configuration during landing, with a bit of fuel left in the aft fuselage:

kqfolaQ.jpg

Edited by Bobe