Rules of Thumb for Building Cheap and Cheerful Rockets

Norcalplanner

Welcome to my first-ever tutorial thread. I've picked up a lot of knowledge and formed some definite opinions about KSP ever since I started playing back in 0.23.5. I thought it was time to give back to the community and let others profit from my experience.

What is Cheap and Cheerful?

Cheap and Cheerful (hereinafter abbreviated C&C) is what I've come to call my philosophy for cost-effective rocket design in KSP. It's based on a British idiom for “something that is costing little money but is attractive, pleasant, or enjoyableâ€Â. Another definition is “not of bad quality, or otherwise enjoyable, despite being cheapâ€Â.

When looking at payload fraction and cost per ton to orbit in KSP, the smart crowd tends to gravitate toward SSTO space planes. They make a lot of sense, if your temperament is compatible with their design and operation. But it takes longer to get to orbit, your ascent profile needs to be closely managed, and designing a craft which is stable and controllable throughout the flight profile (ascent, descent, with cargo, without cargo, full tanks, empty tanks) can be an exercise in frustration for those not well-versed in KSP aerodynamics. The best space plane parts aren't available until relatively late in the tech tree, and the funds investment per craft can be quite high. The cargo bay dimensions limit the size of what you can lift with a single craft. Recovery economics dictate that you have to land fairly close to KSC and in one piece. There has to be another way - dare I say it, an easier way.

Enter Cheap and Cheerful. C&C is about rockets - practical rockets that exist at the intersection of cost, capability, part count, ease of operation, and tech requirements. Building a rocket that has almost as much capability as an optimized design, while having a lower part count and costing a fraction of the funds – this is the C&C way.