New To KSP - First Jet Plane, So proud...

bigred

Hi,

I'm relatively new to KSP but have quickly grown to love this game so much. Despite finally getting the ha g of landing on the Mun and gathering as much science as I can one activity that eluded (or I jsut avoided) was plane building.

So here is my first Jet plane that actually worked and flew pretty well.

projext_X_2_gf7z5p.jpg

projext_X_um1hos.jpg

There you go!

Fun to fly and see the sites around KSC.

:)

Welcome to the forums! :)

I'll let you in on a little secret -- I've been playing this game for over a year, and I still haven't quite gotten the hang of building planes myself (though I'm not too bad at flying some of the prebuilt ones). That's a nice little design you have there; nice and simple, and it certainly looks like it handles well.

Glad to hear you've been enjoying yourself. Feel free to make yourself at home here among us.

Although that plane does look nice, and probably handles alright, I notice you have no elevators, ailerons, or a rudder. I see the control winglet on the front, which i'm guessing acts as both elevators and ailerons. Read up on the basics of airplane control surfaces. It'll make building maneuverable planes easier. :) Also, welcome! And this is not shooting down your plane at all, just some friendly tips. :)

Glad to hear that you're having fun. :)

If you want to polish that plane further, get some control surfaces on the back of the wings and rudders. At the moment, the only control inputs you have apart from engine gimballing are all going through the canard winglets. However, adding wing control surfaces will shift your CoL backwards; you'll want to shift the canards forwards a bit to compensate.

If you're getting into planes, I highly recommend that you give FAR/NEAR a try if you haven't already. You'll probably crash horribly a few times while adapting, but it isn't too hard to get the hang of it.