Grunf911

GrunfWorks plays KSP - Tutorials, Construction and Let's Play - and huge modlist

Recommended Posts

Hi Everyone,

I have played a lot of KSP to date, so I figured, might as well post some of the content on Youtube, and share with this awesome KSP community. I will try to summarize my guides / series to date in this overview post and post new episodes as I go along

Some older KSP members know me from the Reddit series:

GrunfWorks Guide for KSP Interplanetary Voyage of Exploration back in 0.23.5 - written series. Episodes: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

So, as the youtube videos became more popular, i decided to throw my hat into the ring and bring you some (hopefully) quality content. This thread is my attempt to nicely put everything in one place

My current YouTube Series: (note these are playlists with multiple videos - posting playlist links for convenience)

 

  • Tutorials - How to build and fly SSTOs, how to make cool looking blueprints, etc
  •  
  • - my most popular series to date, generally RemoteTech tutorials, and how to's - 0.24.2 based
  •  
  • - a mini series featuring a space station and some cool SSTOs - 0.24.2 based - Finished
  •  
  • - a new series where i build and fly various craft, depending on interest - 0.90 and 1.1.3 based
  •  
  • - a video let's play series that will be hopefully a spiritual successor to my reddit text/image series - 0.90 based - Finished
  •  
  • Kerbal Space Program - Interplanetary Voyage of Exploration (and Kolonization) - Season 2 (FINALLY HERE)

- - - Updated - - -

Here is the mod list for the Series - Interplanetery voyage of exploration - Season 1 (0.90) as well as Kerbal Engineering Before the Space shuttle video, for the others see 2 posts down:

Mods:

Mandatory:

GUI Tweaks & Build/Navigation Aid:

Graphical & new Planets (making world beautiful):

Gameplay / Immersion:

Resources:

Difficulty Ramp-Up:

Science / and Tech Tree:

Parts: Rockets / Stations:

Parts: SpacePlanes:

Parts: Utility:

Edited by Grunf911
Updated with KSP Season 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2016-02-10 at 4:21 AM, MoonMan22 said:

Did you buy it from the Kerbal site or on steam?

Steam, sorry for the late reply :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Curious which mods I am using in my Interplanetary Voyage - Season 2 (1.1.3) version
Look no further:

Universe:

    1. Outer Planets - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/93999-112-outer-planets-mod-20-complete-overhaul-better-terrain-nicer-terrain-textures-improved-scatter-etc-21-may/
    2. Eve Biomes - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/133776-11-evebiomesplus-v10-add-new-biomes-to-eve/
    3. Jool Biomes - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/131274-11-joolbiomes-v10-add-biomes-and-great-green-spot-to-jool/


Graphical / Ambient:

    4. Environmental Visual Enhancements (EVE) -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/51142-1121-1-2-may-13-2016-environmentalvisualenhancements/

    5. Scatterer - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/103963-wip12-scatterer-atmospheric-scattering-v00256-17102016/
    6. Stock Visual Enhancements (SVE) - High Resolution - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/143288-12-113-stock-visual-enhancements-114-1083/
    7. PlanetShine - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/87012-12-planetshine-v0252-stable-v05-experimental-4-october-2016/
    8. Distant Object Enhancements - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/89214-12x-distant-object-enhancement-bis-v181-20-october-2016/
    9. Poods OPM VO (Outer Planets visual Overhaul) - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/126375-113-2016-05-08-poods-opm-vo-outer-planets-mod-visual-overhaul-v020/
    10. Engine Lighting - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/109845-113-engine-lighting-145-the-real-fuels-update-7-may/
    11. RealPlume - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/116292-104-realplume-stock-configs-v081-2015281/

    12. Chatterer - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/83290-12-chatterer-v0991-copy-that-loud-and-clear-12-oct-2016/

    13. Ambient Light Adjustment - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/64901-120-ambient-light-adjustment-2627-301016-continued/

    14. JSI Advanced Transparent Pods - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/138433-12-jsi-advanced-transparent-pods-v01100-previously-part-of-rasterpropmonitor-24th-october-2016/


Difficulty / Gameplay:

    15. RemoteTech (RT) -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/139167-12-remotetech-v180-2016-10-15/

    16. TAC Life Support (TAC-LS) - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/146465-12-tac-life-support-v0125-release-14th-oct-2016/&_fromLogin=1

    17. DEEP Freeze - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/112328-12-deepfreeze-v0230-12th-october-2016/
    18. Kerbal Construction Time (KCT) - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/83342-113-kerbal-construction-time-134-june-25-2016-unrapid-planned-assembly/
    19. Ferram Aerospace Research (FAR) - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/19321-113-ferram-aerospace-research-v01572-lanchester-7116/

    20. kOS - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/61827-113-kos-scriptable-autopilot-system-v101-20161011/

 

UI / Ambient:

    21. Kerbal Alarm Clock -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/22809-12x-kerbal-alarm-clock-v3810-october-28/
    22. Transfer Window Planner - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/84005-12x-transfer-window-planner-v1600-oct-16/
    23. Waypoint Manager - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/94432-12-waypoint-manager-v260-2016-10-12/
    24. TAC Fuel Balancer - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/139223-ksp-v12-tac-fuel-balancer-v210/

    25. Kerbal Engineer Redux - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/17833-111-kerbal-engineer-redux-1110-2016-04-29/

    26. Better Burn Time - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/126111-12-betterburntime-v151-accurate-burn-time-indicator-on-navball-no-more-na/

    27. Portrait Stats - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/108704-12-dmagics-modlets-all-the-updates-science-relay-v20-10-26-2016/

    28. RCS Build Aid - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/33124-12-rcs-build-aid-v091/

    29. Roster Manager - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/100762-wip-113-roster-manager-0230-ksp-113-compatibility-edition-28-jul-2016/

    30. Trajectories - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/94368-120-trajectories-v165-2016-10-24-atmospheric-predictions/

    31. PreciseNode - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/44129-120-precise-node-124-precisely-edit-your-maneuver-nodes/

    32. Alternate Resource Panel - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/54876-12x-ksp-alternate-resource-panel-v2900-oct-16/

    33. Editor Extensions Redux - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/127378-12-editor-extensions-redux-released-with-selectroot-merge-stripsymmetry-nooffsetlimits/#comment-2314915

    34. Docking Port Alignment - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/40423-12-docking-port-alignment-indicator-version-651-updated-102516/

    35. Final Frontier - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/61065-12-final-frontier-kerbal-individual-merits-125-2906/

    36. Filter Extensions - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/93955-12-filter-extensions-274-oct-18/&page=26

    37. HyperEdit - to get everything from Season 1 in place - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/34785-12-hyperedit-v153-sep-14-2016-cheat-teleporter-orbitplanet-editor-more/

 

Rocket / Satellite / Spaceplane / Rover / Station / Utility - Parts
Rocket Parts

    38. USI Sounding Rockets -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/92434-12-sounding-rockets-start-small-dream-big-050/

    39. KW Rocketry -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/137762-12-kw-rocketry-redux-305-released/
    40. Cryogenic Engines - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/106089-12-cryogenic-engines-high-isp-chemical-rockets-oct-27-fixes-update/

    41. DIRECT Launch Vehicles - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/117215-wip-112-direct-super-heavy-launchers-revamp-release/
    42. Kerbal Atomics - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/132755-113-kso-kerbin-shuttle-orbiter-legacy-packs-development-updates/
    43. KSP SpaceY Heavy Lifters - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/90545-12-spacey-heavy-lifter-parts-pack-v115-2016-10-21/
    44. AB Launchers - Energia Rocket - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/96141-11-ab-launchers-12-5m-energia-parts-22-apr/
    45. Interstellar Fuel Switch - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/106243-12-interstellar-fuel-switch-ifs-226-updated-24-10-2016-fixed-part-symmetry/
    46. Procedural Fairings - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/36371-112-procedural-fairings-317-may-8/


SpacePlane Parts

    47. B9 Aerospace -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/83570-113-b9-aerospace-release-612-updated-063016/

    48. B9 Aerospace Legacy - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/83570-113-b9-aerospace-release-612-updated-063016/
    49. B9 Procedural Wings - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/117236-12-procedural-wings/
    50. Procedural Dynamics - Procedural Wing - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/117236-12-procedural-wings/
    51. OPT SpacePlane Parts - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/151118-120-opt-space-plane-v190/

    52. Mark IV System - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/91713-12-mark-iv-spaceplane-system-12-update-oct-21/
    53. Kerbin Shuttle Orbiter (KSO) - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/132755-113-kso-kerbin-shuttle-orbiter-legacy-packs-development-updates/
    54. Quiztech Aero - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/145635-12-quiztech-aero-pack-continued/

    55. Cormorant Aeronologies - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/119951-12-cormorant-aeronology-dev-thread/
    56. Mk2 Stockalike Expoansion - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/109145-12-mk2-expansion-v1720-update-10122016/

    57. Mk3 Stockalike Expansion - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/109401-mk2mk3-expansion-dev-thread-12-m3x-12-update-101316/&page=1


Rover Parts

    58. Dr. Jet's Chop Shop -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/76248-12-dr-jets-chop-shop-v0101-14102016/

    59. USI Karibou Rover - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/119907-12-karibou-expedition-rover-030/

    60. USI Malemute Rover - https://www.reddit.com/r/KerbalSpaceProgram/comments/4j5h2p/usi_presents_the_malemute_rover/


Satelite / Station / Utility Parts

    61. BoxSat -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/82643-104-boxsat-va02f-updated-09162015/

    62. CactEye - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/141298-120-cacteye-optics-community-takeover-updated-10212016/
    63. USI Exploration Pack - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/78242-12-usi-exploration-pack-small-parts-big-adventure-v-060/
    64. USI Freight Transport Technologies (FTT) - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/82730-12-freight-transport-technologies-v060/
    65. USI Survival Pack - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/76169-12-usi-survivability-pack-formerly-derp-v060/

    66. USI Karbonite - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/80650-12-karbonite-mineable-burnable-and-community-driven-080/
    67. USI Karbonite Plus - Karborandrum - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/83948-12-karbonite-plus-k-a-karbonite-expansion-070/
    68. USI Kolonization Systems (MKS/OKS) - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/72032-12-usi-kolonization-systems-mksoks-0500/
    69. Inline Ballutes - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/120626-wip-inline-ballutes/

    70. KAS - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/142594-12-kerbal-attachment-system-kas-v060/
    71. KIS - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/149848-12-kerbal-inventory-system-kis-v130/
    72. Infernal Robotics - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/104535-112-magic-smoke-industries-infernal-robotics-202/
    73. SCANSat - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/72679-12-scansat-v1610-real-scanning-real-science-at-warp-speed-october-24-2016/
    74. Universal Storage - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/68043-universal-storage-1201-for-ksp-12-15th-october-2016/


Futuristic Parts / Near / Far Future

    75. USI Alcubierre Warp Drive -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/90899-12-alcubierre-warp-drive-stand-alone-v050/

    76. NearFuture Construction - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/47786-12-near-future-technologies-oct-26-bugfix-updates/

    77. NearFuture Electrical - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/47786-12-near-future-technologies-oct-26-bugfix-updates/

    78. NearFuture Solar - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/47786-12-near-future-technologies-oct-26-bugfix-updates/
    79. NearFuture Propulsion - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/47786-12-near-future-technologies-oct-26-bugfix-updates/
    80. NearFuture Spacecraft - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/47786-12-near-future-technologies-oct-26-bugfix-updates/


Not yet in, but being considered:

    81. ESLD Beacons -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/141205-12-esld-jump-beacons-revived-09/

    82. Landertron - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/149826-12-landertrons-automatic-landing-retro-rockets-v015-02016-oct-13-0340-utc/


Science:

    83. Station Science -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/50145-112-station-science-v20-new-models-by-speedyb/&page=1

    84. DMagic Orbital Science - http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/59009-12-dmagic-orbital-science-new-science-parts-v134-10192016/


Misc

    85. Kerbal Joint Reinforcement -http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/topic/50911-12-kerbal-joint-reinforcement-v331-102916/

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi GrunfWorks, I'm your big fan. What computer do you use, as you have such a huge amount of mods while your KSP seems to work perfectly?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2016-11-23 at 3:16 PM, Alphard said:

Hi GrunfWorks, I'm your big fan. What computer do you use, as you have such a huge amount of mods while your KSP seems to work perfectly?

I have an i7 3850 (i think) with 16 GB ram and GeForce GTX 780. The KSP does not always run perfectly but after the 1.1. it runs quite nicely, 25 FPS on normal stuff, 17 on bigger. However I always try to accelerate video playback for the FPS to be atleast 25 for you guys. You would notice it as the music plays a bit quicker :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1. 12. 2016 at 7:15 AM, Grunf911 said:

I have an i7 3850 (i think) with 16 GB ram and GeForce GTX 780. The KSP does not always run perfectly but after the 1.1. it runs quite nicely, 25 FPS on normal stuff, 17 on bigger. However I always try to accelerate video playback for the FPS to be atleast 25 for you guys. You would notice it as the music plays a bit quicker :-)

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This thread is quite old. Please consider starting a new thread rather than reviving this one.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.