Sensors, coils, magnets

Azimech

I like the KAL-1000. But I must admit, I've never used it before. The thing always felt as "unfinished".

Almost 5 years ago I needed some way of having an ignition system for my piston engines. I did it using scripts, using libraries to create sensors, transistors, and capacitors. It worked but I halted development.

While piston engines are not the scope of KSP, hear me out. IMHO the problem with the KAL-1000 is that it can't use sensors like the angle of a robotic arm, the distance to a different part, energy levels, temperatures, the distance to the ground, the angle of a surface, difference in the amount of light etc. All RL robots use sensors, all we have is a timing based system.

Coils and magnets: wouldn't it be nice to be able to build generators and motors? Could be simplified like the thermal system. Just omit some factors. Could be as easy as using an electric motor supplying energy when being driven, like a lot of them do in real life.

This shouldn't be part of the base game to raise difficulty. Don't want to use it? No problem, you can "complete" the game.

Thoughts?

This might get merged, but it does kind of feel like it can be a separate topic, so I'm going to reply here.

One thing that I would really like to see is sensors we can use as an axis similar to how the KAL-1000 works. Like, if you pop a barometer (pressure sensor) on the ship, it should show up as an additional axis in the action group list. Then if I add a KAL-1000 onto it, I can effectively pass the pressure data through a curve to drive an output or trigger actions based on some threshold.