Afterburners? Just a small thing...

Dman979

This should be a simple mod, but I can't figure it out myself.

Can you add a module to the Basic Jet Engine that allows it to go to afterburner?

I was thinking it needed a R.A.P.I.E.R-style switching mode, only with LF and Air.

It would have a vastly increased fuel consumption and would overheat quicker when on afterburner, but could produce more thrust and operate up to Mach 1.7.

Can you do this?

Edited by Dman979

[THREAD=9923]The Lazor System mod[/THREAD] has something like that (you'll need one of the lazor system main modules and yellow lazor on your ship) but it's currently broken. Also, it's maintained by Romfarer, who is one of the KSP devs and therefore busy, but it'll probably be updated eventually.

I'm not really good at that stuff, but you could write a ModuleManager plugin that modifies the stock jets to have a RAPIER/SABRE style switch mode, only with (like you said) vastly increased fuel consumption.

I would love to see that, along with a mode switch to ramjet for the advanced engine

Thinking about it that's a really good idea. I'd be interested as well. What's more I could probably do it. I've not actually written anything with ModuleManager before but I understand how KSP config files work, and presumably ModuleManager uses a similar format. But I've got exams coming up. If someone hasn't picked this up in two weeks, and there's still interest, message me and I'll give it a go.

The advanced engine already is a ramjet. Read the description. ;)

for the BJE, it's simple enough. Add the multimode, add a new mode, add some FX.

I am aware that it is a turboramjet, it just doesn't act like a real one, see the Pratt & Whitney J57.

What I'm asking for is a proper mode switch between turbofan and ramjet mode.