ok what is wrong with my code?

OK so I'm a noob. I started developing plugins for KSP about 2 hours ago. I'm using VS 2010. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I'm getting a "an Object Reference is required for the non-static field method or property Vessel.<anything I try to use in the vessel class>

Here's my code:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using UnityEngine;
using UnityThreading;

namespace KSPEngines
{
public class EngineControls
{
protected override void onFlightStart()
{
startGUI();
}

public void startGUI()
{
if (Vessel.active)
{
Guid vesselID = Vessel.id;
}
GUI.Box(new Rect(25,25,100,100), "Engine Controls");
}
}
}

Simple: you're using Vessel, not "vessel" (no caps).

Vessel is the class, vessel (or this.vessel) is the instance of the class.

Thanks for the reply.

Can you give an example of how it would be used? I'm coming from java, so maybe there's some subtle difference I'm not getting.

In java if I wanted to use something from the math class, I would say

double randomNum = Math.random(); //random being a component of the math libraries

So in this if I understand what you're saying, If i want to get the ID of the vessel, I say this:

int vesselID = id.vessel();

I know that I'm not understanding the class structure completely, so if someone could shed some light, that would be appreciated.

Thanks for the reply.

Can you give an example of how it would be used? I'm coming from java, so maybe there's some subtle difference I'm not getting.

In java if I wanted to use something from the math class, I would say

double randomNum = Math.random(); //random being a component of the math libraries

So in this if I understand what you're saying, If i want to get the ID of the vessel, I say this:

int vesselID = id.vessel();

I know that I'm not understanding the class structure completely, so if someone could shed some light, that would be appreciated.