Lighted windows

I'm relatively new to the KSP part modding scene, although I have managed to create some station modules with (reasonably) working airlocks and EVA handles.

My next challenge is lighted windows toggleable in-game, similar to what Lack of LLL and udk_lethal_d0se have on their parts. How would I go about implementing this - are they animations with emissives, or something else?

Edited by sumghai

Yes, they're done via animations. You change the Emissive.alpha and then use

MODULE
{
name = ModuleLight
lightName = lightname
useAnimationDim = true
lightBrightenSpeed = 1
lightDimSpeed = 1
resourceAmount = 0.01
animationName = animationname
useResources = true
}

to reference it in the .cfg

You may also want to add a light entity in Unity, that'll cost more processing power to run though. You do that by having the animation also change the intensity and range of the light.

Here's a quick picture I did for someone else:

bHAkbQ8.jpg

It's missing quite a few points, such as selecting the parent object (where you put the part-tools) when making the new animation, but you get the idea.

I was meant to write a proper tutorial about this, but kind of forgot. I should get round to that really.

Mucho gracias, Lack - I managed to implement the lighted windows after a few hours of head-scratching.

Some extra tips/observations for those who may come across this thread:

1) [iGNORE - See Lack's workaround] Make sure your meshes are *direct* children of the PartTools GameObject in Unity's Hierachy

As a Blender user, I had the habit of directly dragging my .blend file under the aforementioned GameObject to import my meshes, resulting in the meshes being grandchildren (i.e. GameObject > *blender_filename* > desired_meshes). While this usually worked for most of my parts, I found that the nested hierarchy would prevent you from expanding the materials you wish to animate for the emissives.