Yet another Mechjeb thread (but this time different)

Johno

I'm one of the long term Kerbal players. Back in the heady early days I would download any mod that came out. I remember the Sunday Punch pack and Nova's early efforts. Man, they were fun.

Well, that was then and this is now. I don't think I've downloaded any serious mods since version 0.10! And it's been fine, really, because I haven't needed the extra parts (there's plenty now); and the patched conics have made piloting relatively simple.

HOWEVER:

As a player who has landed on the Mun a few times, and even managed Minimus once, I'm now seriously considering installing MechJeb. I've never used it before, and don't really know what it does (except I have a vague idea of it being an autopilot, which might very well be an understatement).

I have 0.21.1 installed on my [very elderly] computer.

So . . convince me. Fans of MechJeb, this is your chance. Tell me why I should put it on, what it does, its cool features.

Also, detractors of MechJeb, tell me what YOU think too.

Two restrictions:

1) If your objection to MechJeb is any variation on "It's cheating", then don't bother posting. I have heard that one, and I understand that some people think that. Message received. :)

2) Be nice to everyone who responds. Even if you think they're an idiot, give them the benefit of the doubt.

Go.

For why not to get Mechjeb: Whenever you pull off something for the first time, the feeling of accomplishment will likely be very much diminished once you realise that MechJeb did it, not you.

If you want the information readouts that it has, I recommend getting Kerbal Engineer. It's not been updating to 0.21 so the rendezvous information breaks the window, but everything else works fine.

Pro's

1: It can control perfect ascents, circularizations, rendevous, and landings for you.(with an occasional WTF hiccup.)