Current Use Of KSP In Schools

seabas917

Hello fellow KSP'ers,

I'm a teacher in Germany with an alternative k-8 school system.*

I come from an engineering/computer science background, so as you can imagine I'm pushing for a tech savvy internet driven curriculum.

Three weeks ago I bought Kerbal Space Program (KSP). Now I'm playing it with students and something amazing started happening.*

The kids who don't speak english (just German), started*playing the game in self*organized*groups, started to reach the objectives that took me hours to get to, and build teams*around the key kids taking on fields from piloting to*engineering!

Let me*break*down how incredible this is:

#1 *With only the basic understanding of game*mechanics (shift+,control-, wasd, and t,r,g), they were able to web translate enough of the*construction*description information into german to build*launchable*rockets and (more*impressively)*space planes.*

#2 Asking the right physics questions and building*hypotheses, "why is it so hard to*maneuver my rocket*once*its*in orbit?".*(Three full large orange tanks of fuel, can do that.) My answer try google-ing "inertia". *Kids*especially the 9 - 14 year olds*don't tend to ask questions involving*advanced orbital*mechanics and other physics*concepts. The kids told me the*orbits the game calculates*around*the Mun must be wrong. (After some playing I think they might be right, because it looks like the game only takes into account the mass of one planet at a time.) I had to tell them*gravity*is effected by distance so the mass of Kerbalin or the Sun, have too small an effect to be noticed in that orbit. *Trying to derive*physics*conclusions*on paper wasn't*something*I was doing until*university. *Now its a part of the classes morning*routine!*