My First Tripulated Mission tu Mun

DelgaSpace

Hi Everybody!

First of all, sorry about my english (i'm from Argentina)

This is my first post. I want to show you some pics from my first (and successful) tripulated mission to Mun. I know it isn't a very big challenge, but i'm a newbie in KSP and i felt very happy to bring back Bob Kerman alive.

Javascript is disabled. View full album

Thanks!

Yeah I actually learned from this. my landers are always WAY overdesigned. Like my last Munar rover, I forgot an antenna on.

So I had to land my rover on the mun with my transfer stage, and do the science like that.

Then I left the mun with my transfer stage.

Then (lacking chutes for my 1-way munar rover) I did a powered landing on kerbin with my transfer stage.

I like your manned lander alot. Small and efficient. Thank you for that lol

Edited by r4pt0r

That's a really nice simple design for a first mun mission. I think my first was much bigger and over engineered compared to that. The benefit of the new career mode I guess, teaching new players to be more efficient in design.

That's a really nice simple design for a first mun mission. I think my first was much bigger and over engineered compared to that. The benefit of the new career mode I guess, teaching new players to be more efficient in design.

I'm having trouble remembering which ship was my first mun landing mission, but my first screenshot that I was able to find which had a vessel sitting on the mun (that wasn't a probe, I was very probe-happy back then) is clearly the lander portion of my L4F design, a massively over-engineered drop tank design with a nuclear CSM....that could have almost done a real moon mission (lander portion wouldn't have been able to make it all the way back from the lunar surface, but there was plenty of everything else).

L4F lander

Delta-V: 3,025m/sec (approx, 0.22 ship doesn't exactly translate into 0.26 all that well)

TWR: 0.9-2.18 kerbin

Mass: 5,685 kg