Question about Delta-V

Hey all. I am playing the latest release on PC through steam. I just started career mode. I was trying to achieve my first orbit of Kerbin and was using that Delta-V sheet that most tends to use. It looks like it says 3400 DV to achieve orbit and I was having a hard time putting together a decent ship under 30 parts with 3400. I finally tried to launch with the ship I built which was 3100 or so. I was easily able to achieve orbit with that vessel and had several hundred DV to spare. So am I reading that chart wrong? Or reading the DV on my ship wrong (I just look at the total DV under the staging on the HUD)? Or some other issue?

I am a total noob here, so just trying to figure out how to read these things. I imagine fully understanding planning and DV will be huge when it comes to going to the different celestial bodies here. 

Thanks,

Rylant

23 minutes ago, Rylant said:

Or reading the DV on my ship wrong (I just look at the total DV under the staging on the HUD)?

Are you aware that the delta V meter in the VAB has atmospheric and vacuum modes? The delta V maps generally use vacuum delta V, and it's likely you were looking at the atmospheric delta V, which can be significantly less for some engines. If you hover the delta V icon in the toolbar the options should be apparent.

Welcome to the game and the forums, and congratulations on your first orbit :D

The Δv required to launch into Kerbin orbit is highly dependent upon both your craft and your launch flight profile.   As it says on the Δv map (I assume you mean this one), "More/less efficient ascents are likely, depending on ascent profile, TWR, and aerodynamic effects."
So if you have a small, aerodynamic rocket and fly a very efficient profile you can definitely get to orbit for less than 3,400 m/s.

That said, it's more likely that you were seeing the atmospheric Δv of your ship in the VAB, while the map uses vacuum Δv exclusively.