Need a simple explanation on wings effects

Hi all.

Can someone explain to me in simple terms (I am not technical enough for high math stuff but I do understand simple physics concepts) the effects of angles in wings in a aircraft. Consider this to apply to KSP and not to real life since the physics on KSP are different.

So, usually wings on a aircraft are at 90º perpendicular to the center body of the aircraft, something like this -----O----- .

What are the effects of lower the angle a few degrees for example, lower the angle near the ground (best example I can think of is the X-302 mentioned in Stargate SG1).

Also, whats the effect if it's the opposite?

Is there any advantages using different angles or not really?

Hope I am making myself clear.

Thank you.

Edited by Kar

In stock KSP aerodynamics, not very much, I believe.

If you're using FAR, then it has a much larger effect. An anhedral angle (wings pointing toward the ground) increases maneuverability while making your craft less table. A dihedral (upwards) angle improves stability.

For spaceplanes, I usually use a dihedral tilt at the wingtips when I'm playing in FAR. It significantly improves stability at very high altitudes and speeds.

This wikipedia page explains things in more detail: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dihedral_(aeronautics)

Thank you very much. I do not use FAR, I already have too much work in my career game with many of the mods I use. I will test the wings angle and see how it goes in a "stock" aerodynamics way.

In stock KSP aerodynamics, not very much, I believe.

I believe it does. I think the wings produce different amount of lift under different angles. Increasing the angle on a wing (say, dihedral design, port side wing, aircraft rolling to starboard) will decrease its lift generated. The other wing (now more parallel to the ground) will produce greater lift, and this differential naturally corrects the roll of the aircraft (up to a point). I could be wrong though.