Electric Helicopter designs?

I just started playing KSP again, and I wanted to build a basic electric helicopter. Nothing too complex, just one that could lift off of the ground. I tried building a rotor for several hours, but none would lift off unless I hacked gravity. I can't find any tutorials or ships to download, or any forum threads that explain the design of one in detail. Can someone who has built one give me some tips?

Which parts mods are you using and which special (like rotating) parts are you using? A picture and some words on your contraptions so far would also be of great help.

I can say this though: Using Infernal Robotics and Procedural Wings I did manage to build a somewhat controllable twin rotor heli. It has since been scrapped but I do remember it was quite the challenge to make the wings and rotor system strong enough for the neccessary high rpm. No hacks were used.

I don't know how much you are into helicopter design so a few words on where you come in that respect from would also be good info.

That said:

There are in essence 2 different approaches you can take. One is mechanically simpler but can be harder to control. This is the type where the angle of the wings relative to the oncoming air is fixed (fixed pitch) and only rotor rpm can control climb/descent.

The other type is much more complex and involves some way of changing the wings' angle of attack (collective pitch) to control climb/descent with a fixed rotor rpm.

Which one of these 2 have you been working on?

Edited by LN400

27 minutes ago, LN400 said:

Which parts mods are you using and which special (like rotating) parts are you using? A picture and some words on your contraptions so far would also be of great help.