Movie Space ships compared to the real deal

Sleipnir

Hey everyone,

this one has been occupying my mind for some time so here it goes:

Since I started playing KSP I have learned a lot about space flight assuming that it is based mostly on the real deal (especially the orbiting and trajectory part in space). Nonetheless it has changed my view on space especially how trajectories and flying in general works out. It also makes me wonder how the movie spacecrafts like from starwars or startrek compare to real life space "flying". I am not talking about warp drives or wormhole travel but about how they orbit and approach things. If anything in KSP is true then meeting up with a craft, approaching and docking seems like quite the ordeal IRL with lots of engine burns, aligning/maneuvering, RCS maneuvers etc, yet in movies (like the above mentioned) smaller "starfighters" seem to be able to race around starbases and motherships quite easily with high speeds and agility, something that appears to be impossible to replicate in KSP without crashing into an object or getting completely off course. Is the entire movie thing with small "starfighters" zooming about big spaceships in battles just a Hollywood thing or could this become reality? Maybe if we have faster and specialized engines?

Maybe someone here has an answer.

Thanks in advance.

Dan

Generally, movies tend to get things very wrong. I seem to be linking to this site a lot lately...

Space fighters in particular get argued about a lot. This page (warning: TV Tropes) has a fairly comprehensive discussion of the pros and cons, but I'd say that the biggest blow against them is the fact that there's effectively no horizon in space. Your weapons are only limited by accuracy, not absolute range, and bigger ships would have the space for both bigger weapons and better targeting computers.