I think i finally get it,, maybe

KBMODIGITY

After 684 hours playing this game I think I finally get how certain orbital mechanics work. When I started playing this game I knew absolutely nothing. I thought if you just went straight up you would get into orbit. Thank you Scott Manley for teaching me the error of my ways.

Well tonight I have my interplanetary mission to Jool with 6 probes with all kinds of science things ready to go. During the massively long burn phases I thought about why objects that are further away from the object that is their sphere of influence moved slower than others that are closer. Finally a light bulb went off in my head. I could be way off here but to me it seems that they don't actually move slower it is all relative. The further an object is from its SOI the further around the object it has to travel thus all objects more at pretty much the same speed around its SOI, possibly regardless of their own mass as well. I would guess then that the determining factor of a speed needed to reach orbit would be the mass of the object that is causing the SOI because of gravity.

I hope this makes sense and if it does can someone who is good with this stuff tell me if I am right or wrong. I love to learn more I just hate reading books. Also, please don't get all technical as then everything will go right over my head. Thanks in advance.

Edited by Vanamonde

The further an object is from its SOI the further around the object it has to travel thus all objects more at pretty much the same speed around its SOI, possibly regardless of their own mass as well.

In NASCAR, cars on the inside of a turn drive with less velocity than cars on the outside but get through the turn quicker. Cars on the outside of the turn have a higher velocity, but get through the turn slower. So which one has more speed?