Help getting started making my first mod, without Visual Studio

I am an experienced programmer but new to C#, Unity, and the KSP modding API. The mod I am envisioning is pretty simple (a window with a few sliders that edits a .cfg file), so I found and downloaded this example mod hoping to get it running and then poke around in its code to learn how the modding system works. I'm currently stuck on the "get it running" step. I strongly prefer working lightweight with a text editor and the command line over IDEs, so I'm trying to avoid using Visual Studio. I download the mod, put it in the directory .../Kerbal Space Program/GameData/TacWindowTest/Plugins, copy a part file into the /Parts directory and edit it per the instructions, and then attempt to build. I have my system path set to include the latest 64-bit version of csc.exe, so I type

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Kerbal Space Program\GameData\TacWindowTest\Plugins\TacLib-master\Source>csc /target:library /out:TacWindowTest.dll *.cs

per this documentation page, and get output beginning like the following:

Microsoft (R) Visual C# Compiler version 4.6.1038.0
for C# 5
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

This compiler is provided as part of the Microsoft (R) .NET Framework, but only supports language versions up to C# 5, which is no longer the latest version. For compilers that support newer versions of the C# programming language, see http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=533240

Icon.cs(28,7): error CS0246: The type or namespace name 'KSP' could not be found (are you missing a using
        directive or an assembly reference?)
Icon.cs(33,7): error CS0246: The type or namespace name 'UnityEngine' could not be found (are you missing a
        using directive or an assembly reference?)
PopupWindow.cs(2,7): error CS0246: The type or namespace name 'UnityEngine' could not be found (are you missing        a using directive or an assembly reference?)