Proposal for a Direct Fusion Drive in KSP2

Hi there! I'm a scientist working on fusion technology and a KSP player since 2013. About a month ago I saw the Twitter post with the LANTR engine that mentioned that y'all were still adding engines to the roster. Myself and two other PhD fusion scientists / KSP fans came up with a proposal, which is finally ready to share. I hope it's not too late! So here I present:

A Direct Fusion Drive for KSP2

Introduction and summary

Nuclear-fusion-powered rocket technology is at an early stage of development. As a potential near-future technology, we propose adding fusion rockets to KSP2. In particular, the ‘Direct Fusion Drive (DFD)’, which could have an ISP more than double that of the Dawn ion engine, is a good candidate. We select characteristics for the DFD to balance realism and playability, as well as game balance (with the KSP1 engines). In the implementation described here, it most directly competes with the NERV and Dawn, and also, due to its higher ISP, extends the space of possible missions. Table 1 summarizes the proposed implementation.

Table 1: Proposed parameters for the Direct Fusion Drive engine.
Engine Thrust / kN Vac ISP / s Mass / t TWR Cost  / spesos Fuel Type Size/m
DFD "PFRC" 40 9000 3.5 11.42 100k Deuterium, Helium-3 2.5
KSP1 "Nerv" 60 800 3 20 10k LiquidFuel 1.25
KSP1 "Dawn" 2 4200 0.25 8 8k Xenon 0.625

The section ‘The Direct Fusion Drive for KSP2’ describes a few further proposed details as well.

Spoiler

MAea6sT.png

Figure 1: Artist's rendering of the Direct Fusion Drive engine. From https://ntrs.nasa.gov/citations/20170003126 .