Deorbiting and landing on specific islands on Laythe

I'm flying a Jool 5 mission with a big old SSTO and just circularized at Laythe, but have yet to perform the landing. I know how to control roughly where I land on Kerbin after deorbiting, but Laythe is a very different beast and I have trouble predicting where I'm going to land. I have some experience with Laythe landings but almost every time my craft would skip off the atmosphere and mess up my trajectory.

My craft is in a 60x60 km low orbit and my target is an equatorial island at about 109º longitude. I have plenty of fuel left to run the rapiers in air breathing mode but would prefer to land as close as possible to the island, ideally just east of it. Any tips?

[Caveat: I am no expert on Laythe as I have never deorbited there. [1]]

In a similar situation, I would run this craft in orbit above Laythe in my 'Lab'[2] world and devise and tune a 'clockwork' landing.  You simply deorbit one at a known longitude and see where it comes down.

Then cheat & repeat, adjusting the deorbit location until you can 'follow the numbers', which is a 'clockwork' landing.

In addition, I often use an approach in which the deorbit simply lowers the PE above a certain location to a certain altitude.  For example on Kerbin, targeting a landing at KSC, 50km above 110W (retro performed opposite at 70E) because 50km is the lowest altitude one wants to fire the final retro (PE:-280 km) and then revert to prograde direction for flight.

If I were approaching the skip problem, I'd certainly look at descending into the upper atmosphere for controlled aero-braking being tuned with a little thrust to allow the suborbit to decay, again: "by the numbers".

You find out what that whole profile looks like in your Lab world view repeated experiments; then document it with the craft so that you can play it from the can at any time thereafter.

[1] Yes, folks: Laythe is still in my future...