What should a new player particulary do to Get a sucessful trip to the Mun?

I'm new to ksp and forums, Having alot of fun! But i now wanna focus on landing and planting a flag on the mun or another planet. How do you think i should pull that off with no mods and particulary Easy? should i focus on getting a refuel docker and space station also sattelite probes? Or how should i go upon a mission to a planet? I am new player so anything easy would be great!

First you need a spaceship. Put landing legs on there. Then when you are in space and you see the moon, start driving right towards it. Then when you get close, aim the backside of your ship, where the engines are, at the moon and fire them to make you slow down. Walla.

The easy way is to bring up the debug menu and turn on infinite fuel...

But there is no easy mode for space exploration. You gotta do some work; but luckily, the harder the challenge the greater the reward.

To start; learn to get to orbit. Do this repeatedly. Do it with large vessels.

Learn to land. Practice on the Mun/minmus. Get good at doing this.

Learn to dock. Practice so that you don't waste tons of RCS & fuel in the process.

Then just assemble a ship in orbit by docking. Get some atomic engines, lots of fuel, a lander (and if it is a planet your lander will need significant fuel to return to orbit). Use http://ksp.olex.biz/ to learn about interplanetary transfer timing.

Practice Aerobraking; make sure you save before you practice... it's a very "trial and error" sort of thing.

F5 before you make important maneuvers. F9 when you have a learning experience (crash).

Edited by Alistone

Definitely start with Minmus, despite being further away it takes a lot less delta-v to get there and land, due to the (much) lower gravity. It's also flatter, aim for one of the frozen seas if possible.