Docking

I'm trying to dock an RCS tug to a small section of a space station (a single Karmony node). It's my first time docking/using RCS, and it's a bit frustrating. I can rendezvous just fine, to within about 50 meters. Things go wrong when I turn on docking, mode, though... using RCS makes the ship flip every which-way, which in turn makes it impossible to use the RCS controls, and in docking mode I can't seem to realign my ship. What am I doing wrong?

Edited by Kimberly

Did you balance your RCS thrusters with the center of mass? See this picture:

c9c91c_balance.jpg

The thrusters should be placed at the ends of the green line, that is, at the same distance from the center of mass. Just place a ring of 4 quad thrusters at each end, and you're good to go. Also, it helps using the chase cam.

You can also watch my tutorial video (see signature.) Approach starts at 7:22 min, docking procedures at 9:15 min.

Edited by blizzy78

They weren't quite balanced, no. But if that's absolutely required to use RCS, then what is the use of an RCS tug? I've heard people using them to assemble stations, but they seem useless if they must be balanced, because they'll never be balanced if they have to carry payloads. Also, what's the "chase cam"?

I just ended up docking without using RCS at all, but I'd still like to figure this out for the rest of the station's construction.

I dock on RCS only regularly and find it easier to just leave the controls in Staging Mode. Only time I use translation is when I'm getting close to docking and my alignment isn't exactly perfect, and even then I'm liable just to use the IJKL keys.