Magnetic Asteroid Gravity

Errol

I've had this idea that I was sure would have been brought up already, but I have been unable to find any indication of this.

We all know that asteroids in KSP have no gravity, that is to say that they are treated like any other ship part, and just float around inside the physics sphere. We also know it would be very difficult both to create a mod, and for that mod to run computationally, that would add some sort of S.O.I to them.

However, in the modding community we like to take ideas that are difficult, and sufficiently abstract them so that we can make a reasonable mod for it. What if instead of giving them an SOI and everything, we just implement the already existing magnetic attraction mechanic used by docking ports? Just turn the force way down, and make it attract all ship parts. I don't know, as I am not a programmer, but it occurs to me that this may end up being very CPU intensive, so it could be perhaps just magnetic to a list of part types; such as anything that is a command pod, engine, landing leg, claw or other asteroid. This way you can "Land" on asteroids, and you can build large clumps of asteroids (space dust bunnies anyone?) if not actually orbit. And who knows, perhaps there are stable orbits that you could find with the right force level set (I'm thinking it would need to be very low).

Thoughts?

Ping: @linuxgurugamer @Snark, because I'm hoping if this is a bad idea, one of you guys could easily see why.

Edited by Errol

1 minute ago, Errol said:

I've had this idea that I was sure would have been brought up already, but I have been unable to find any indication of this.

We all know that asteroids in KSP have no gravity, that is to say that they are treated like any other ship part, and just float around inside the physics sphere. We also know if would be very difficult both to create a mod, and for that mod to run computationally, that would add some sort of S.O.I to them.