Shuttle lift off if no Gravity

NoGravity

Hi,

I'm a newbie here. 

My question is this.  Using the space shuttle as an example, how much fuel would be saved if gravity stopped at the moment of liftoff for 1 second, 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 30 seconds and one full minute?

I may be using this info in a SF story I am writing.

Thanks!

"no gravity" means "no orbit".

For portion of the time... It'd be quite a boost (guaranteed at most 10x standard linear acceleration for that portion).

Edited by YNM

It's an interesting question. First, your acceleration would be increased by 1g for the duration.  Second the fuel saved by not having to fight against gravity is what translates into that additional G.  Depending on how long there is no gravity, it can be pretty significant.

I'm assuming your story will have some sort of device that nullifies gravity for a short period of time.

1 hour ago, Bill Phil said:

Another problem is that you would end up going tangential to Earth at a certain velocity, and tangential to Earth's orbit at 30 or something km/s...

Exactly. You wouldn't "float up". You would actually be heading on a tangent. At first it would seem like up, because of the small angle approximation. But as the angle got bigger, the sideways motion would start to become apparent.

My guess is that he just means that gravity does not affect the shuttle temporarily.

IIRC the shuttle loses about 1000 m/s due to gravity and aero drag, and has about 9000 ms total dV.

The shuttle could "drift" up, and then expend roughly 8000 m/s to get to orbital velocity once gravity starts affecting it again.

I guess this reduces dV requirements to 8/9 what they'd be without "temporary local gravity nullification"

Edited by KerikBalm

4 hours ago, KerikBalm said:

My guess is that he just means that gravity does not affect the shuttle temporarily.