KSP Has Spoiled My Enjoyment Of Hollywood Space Movies

NeoMorph

Has anyone else noticed this... You go to watch something like "Gravity" and most of the movie you are going "BUT THAT'S NOT RIGHT!!!!". For example I seem to remember that the Tiangong is in a 350km orbit and the Karman line (edge of atmosphere) is around 100km. Yet if you watch the movie Gravity you see the Tiangong flying right on the edge of the Karman line... and all from some dodgy Kessler Syndrome incident... I... DON'T... THINK... SO....

Yup... I wouldn't have known that if it hadn't been for KSP. Hell, I didn't even know a gravity turn from a Hohmann transfer manoeuvre. But learning all that stuff (and I'm still learning) has made me appreciate KSP more...

And yet even though it's kind of spoiled some movies it does make me grin when I imagine Jeb replacing the lead actor. It does make me wonder if KSP is going to influence a new breed of rocketeers/astronauts. I just hope they don't follow in Jeb's footsteps.

But ultimately what I would LOVE to see is someone doing a remake of Gravity... but done in KSP with Valentina as the heroine.

Edited by NeoMorph

Yeah, I hate those things.

But, as a student of computer science, it not worse then seeing all the horrible, horrible "hacker" terminals and stuff like that in movies. Most of the times, IT is represented even worse then orbital mechanics on TV.

Just now, tater said:

Watching Interstellar makes Interstellar an awful experience. ;) 

What's Interstellar's equivalent of "Those things aren't on the same orbit" and "The MMU doesn't have that much Δv" and "What the heck orbit is that debris cloud on anyway"? I thought they got gravitational time dilation at least sort of right, and that's something KSP doesn't teach you about (much like wormholes or crop biology).

15 minutes ago, HebaruSan said: