Advice on Robotics Kits?

JoeSchmuckatelli

6th Grade Science Fair is coming up.  Last time I did this, my son and I built a wooden and plastic model of how an internal combustion engine works (something totally within my wheelhouse).  My intrepid daughter declared last night that she wants to build a robot.  Something like this:

So - it turns out these things are kind of expensive.  I absolutely want to support her interests, but I don't want to get something that a kid with a basic grasp on programming (she codes in Roblox) cannot do in a reasonable amount of time.  

(I'm confident she and I can lego anything together and I know how to follow schematics, so the physical construction stuff isn't a concern... it's the programming that I have zero experience with).

Anyone have experience with these - and willing to recommend good products or those to avoid?

after owning the og lego rcx and the first nxt, they leave a lot to be desired. i didn't like visual programming, but both had quasi-c compilers available, which i preferred. they were limited by the official sensors, but third party sensors were available and both were documented well enough to make diy sensors if you liked dabbling in electronics (my go-to is lego technic + arduino/raspberry pi). the technic sets themselves are great for the mechanical parts. the lego motors are ok, but i like to get adapters for hobby servos and various motors and i have a 3d printer to make anything i dont need. i cant speak for newer smart bricks, but lego has always been good stuff.  i suppose its a good place to start, good for kids, really good if you already have a number of technic sets. 

4 hours ago, ColdJ said:

@JoeSchmuckatelli

Have you considered foregoing programming and instead using a hobby car remote and hobby car servos in conjunction with the Lego?